Thursday, July 5, 2012

Wizkid wins BET Award with Ghana’s Sarkodie

Nigeria’s young sensation, Wizkid has joined the league of top Nigerian artists awarded the BET prize for Best International Act.
Wizkid won the award in a tie with Ghanaian artist, Sarkodie at the 2012 edition of the BET Awards on Sunday.
The 2012 Black Entertainment Award winners, Wizkid (R) and Sarkozie (L)
Another Nigerian artist, Ice Prince Zamani was nominated in the category which also had AfricaCamp Mulla from Kenya, Mokobe from Mali and Lira from South Africa.
With this award Wizkid has joined the likes of D’banj, Tuface Idibia, Asa, 9ice and Nneka in picking the BET Award.
Rappers Wale and Miguel won the Best Collaboration Award
Nigeria also had another claim at the event which held in California on Sunday, as Nigerian-American rapper, Wale, won the Best Collaboration Award for his rap track “Lotus Flower Bomb” which features Miguel.
Jay-Z and Kanye West were the big winners at the BET Awards 2012 walking away with Video of the Year for their “Otis” single. The rap duo also won Best Group for their collaboration on the “Watch The Throne” album.
The award ceremony for Black Entertainers was hosted by foremost Hollywood Actor, Samuel L. Jackson, who opened the show by doing a parody of Jay-Z and Kanye’s “In Paris” with director Spike Lee.
Beyonce and Chris Brown also won two awards each for the night.
Nicki Minaj, Usher, Brown, Wale, G.O.O.D. Music, Y’Anna Crawley, Amber Bullock, Jessica Reedy, Melanie Fiona and 2 Chainz were among the performers.
There was also a special tribute to Whitney Houston that included performances from Chaka Khan, Brandy, Monica and Houston’s mother Cissy Houston, who sang “Bridge Over Troubled Water.” The tribute also included appearances by Houston’s “Waiting to Exhale” co-stars Angela Bassett, Loretta Devine and Lela Rochon.
Check out the full list of winners for the 2012 BET Awards.
Best International Act
AfricaCamp Mulla (Kenya)
Ice Prince (Nigeria)
Lira (South Africa)
Mokobe (Mali)
Sarkodie (Ghana) — WINNER
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female R&B Artist
Marsha Ambrosius
Beyonce — WINNER
Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona

Best Male R&B Artist
Chris Brown — WINNER
Bruno Mars
Trey Songz

Best Group
Bad Meets Evil
Diddy-Dirty Money
Maybach Music Group
Mindless Behavior
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) — WINNER

Best Collaboration
Beyonce f/ J. Cole – “Party”
Big Sean f/ Kanye West & Roscoe Dash “Marvin & Chardonnay”
DJ Khaled f/ Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne – “I’m On One”
Drake f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga – “The Motto”
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) f/ Otis Redding – “Otis”
Wale f/ Miguel – “Lotus Flower Bomb” — WINNER

Best Male Hip Hop Artist
Big Sean
Drake — WINNER
J. Cole
Lil Wayne
Rick Ross
Young Jeezy

Best Female Hip Hop Artist
Nicki Minaj — WINNER
Brianna Perry

Video of the Year
Beyonce – “Countdown” — WINNER
Beyonce – “Love On Top”
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) – “[Expletive] in Paris”
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) f/ Otis Redding – “Otis”
Usher – “Climax”

Video Director of the Year
Beyonce & Alan Ferguson — WINNER
Benny Boom
Chris Brown & Godfrey Tabarez
Kanye West
Hype Williams

Best New Artist
A$AP Rocky
Big Sean — WINNER
Diggy Future
Meek Mill

Best Gospel
Yolanda Adams — WINNER
Kim Burrell
James Fortune & FIYA
Fred Hammond
Trin-I-Tee 5:7

Best Actress
Angela Bassett
Viola Davis — WINNER
Taraji P. Henson
Regina King
Zoe Saldana

Best Actor
Don Cheadle
Idris Elba
Kevin Hart — WINNER
Denzel Washington

Young Stars Award
Diggy — WINNER
Jacob Latimore
Keke Palmer
Willow Smith

Best Movie
“Good Deeds”
“Jumping The Broom”
“Laugh At My Pain”
“Red Tails”
“The Help” — WINNER

Subway Sportswoman of the Year
Skylar Diggins
Brittney Griner
Candace Parker
Serena Williams — WINNER
Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year
Carmelo Anthony
Kobe Bryant
Victor Cruz
Kevin Durant — WINNER
LeBron James
Coca-Cola Viewer’s Choice Award
Beyonce – “Love On Top”
Chris Brown – “Turn Up the Music”
Drake f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga – “The Motto”
Mindless Behavior – “Hello” — WINNER
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) f/ Otis Redding – “Otis”
Wale f/ Miguel – “Lotus Flower Bomb”

Centric Award
Common — WINNER
Robert Glasper
Robin Thicke
Best International Act UK
Emeli Sande
Wretch 32 — WINNER

Lifetime Achievement
Frankie Beverly featuring Maze

Humanitarian Award